Joana Monteiro won at the 5 CX Cup of Portugal races

Mario Costa got the men’s title after his victory at the CX national championship too

Joana Monteiro
Joana Monteiro leading alone the Águeda CX race

Joana Monteiro (Axpo FirstBike Vila Do Conde) won at the last race of the Portugal CX race in Águeda as she did before at the other 4 competitions. The rider from Vila Nova de Famalicão crossed the finish line alone. Rafaela Ramalho (Clube BTT Matosinhos) took the immediate place, 32 seconds away and Leandra Gomes, teammate of the winner, was third, at 1:27″. The order of the final overall was the same: Joana Monteiro, with 300 points, Rafaela Ramalho 175, and Leandra Gomes, 145.

A few weeks before the start of the road season, Márcio Barbosa (ABTF Betão-Feirense) showed a good level and was Mário Costa’s toughest rival at the men’s race. The heads-up between the two would, however, end up leaning towards Mário Costa, who won the race with a 10 second advantage over the Pacense rider. The third was Vítor Santos (Axpo FirstBike Vila Do Conde), who arrived in Águeda on equal points with Costa, but did not manage to win the Cup. Mário Costa thus added the Portuguese Cup to the National Championship, finishing the set of five scoring events with 260 points, Vítor Santos added 230 and Márcio Barbosa ended up with 108, completing the podium of the general classification.

From left Márcio Barbosa, Mário Costa and Vítor Santos at the podium of the Águeda CX race.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *